Farewell iMac G5

iMac-G5-475538

It is with a tinge of sadness that write this piece…  My faithful companion is now in a different place…

The iMac G5 holds a special place in my heart.  It is the first Macintosh that I brought brand new.  Sure I have older Macs in my possession (like my collection of SE/30s), but I did not buy them brand new.  Everybody who loves Macs and has unboxed one can tell you there is something special about your first Mac.  It is the Mac that brought me into the Mac fold and now my living is derived from installation, troubleshooting and repairing Macs.

Over the weekend that just past, I migrated just under 500Gb of data from my faithful iMac G5 to my upgraded Aluminium Intel iMac.  (Sidenote: Firewire 400 is terribly slow! Especially for large data transfers)  The iMac G5 has now gone to digital pasture and serves my young sons’ play “poota” (as my 3 year old son calls it).

I purchased the iMac G5 on 1st November 2004 for $2,885 including the optional memory upgrade to 512Mb RAM, 160Gb Hard drive, Airport and Bluetooth modules (when they were still optional items), it ran Mac OS X Panther.  Years later, I upgraded to  1.5Gb RAM, 1Tb hard drive and Mac OS X Leopard.  I would say that my experience with the iMac G5 was the gateway to my decision to purchase an iPod and eventually iPhone and iPad.

Farewell faithful iMac G5, you have served your master well.  If I didn’t have such an emotional attachment to you I probably would have replaced you sooner, but the time has come for us to depart.  Enjoy the rest of your digital existence.

This entry was posted in Apple and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

